Leadership Breakfast with Kim Yao, AIA

Event Pass Information

Event Pass Type
AIA Member (not AIANY)$5.00 USD
Student with Valid .edu Email AddressFREE
General Public   $10.00 USD

Event Details

*This event is occurring as a live webinar. Registrants will be emailed a link to access the program; please continue to register.*

The AIANY Women in Architecture Committee is honored to have Kim Yao, AIA, as our featured Archtober Leadership Breakfast speaker. Yao is a Principal at Architecture Research Office (ARO), which received the 2020 AIA Architecture Firm Award. She is also this year’s AIA New York president. Her presidential theme, “Charting NYC 2020”, focuses on identifying issues that impact our built environment and the policies that define it. For this talk and presentation, Yao will highlight advocacy in architecture from the perspective of the individual practitioner and firm, as well as organizationally via AIA New York. Her continued dedication and leadership to achieve design excellence and champion our profession will inspire and encourage us to serve our communities and to improve the built environment.

Kim Yao, AIA,
Principal, Architecture Research Office; 2020 President, AIA New York 

Kim Yao, AIA, is Principal of Architecture Research Office (ARO), a New York City-based firm dedicated to architecture that unites strategy and intelligence with beauty and form. ARO’s diverse body of work has earned the firm over a hundred design awards, including the 2020 National AIA Architecture Firm Award, AIA New York State Firm of the Year Award, and the Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award. Yao holds an undergraduate degree in architecture from Columbia University and a Master of Architecture from Princeton University. She is an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Architecture at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, and has also taught at the School of Constructed Environments, Parsons, the New School for Design, and Barnard College. She is on the Executive Committee and Board of AIA New York and the Center for Architecture and serves as the 2020 President of AIA New York.